Red Sox acquire reliever Tyler Thornburg from Brewers for Travis Shaw, prospects

I’ll be clear to start: I don’t hate this trade. In 67 innings last year, Thornburg let up just 16 earned runs, walking 25 and striking out 90 (3.6 K/BB). You can never have enough relief pitching, especially when your rotation features guys like Clay Buchholz and Drew Pomeranz, and Thornburg will be a solid addition to Boston’s bullpen. What I do hate, however, is what this trade seems to mean for the 3rd base position in 2017.

Now, I know this is just speculation. Sandoval was supposed to start last year, and even before he got hurt he lost his spot to Shaw. He could get hurt again. Brock Holt could take over at the hot corner again. A surprising prospect could come out of nowhere in Spring Training. It’s too early, we have no idea. But I do know that I’ve only been #done with 2 things in my life: the dog face filter on snapchat, and Pablo Sandoval. Do with that what you will.

So goodbye, Travis Shaw. Hope Milwaukee respects your candidacy for Mayor of Ding Dong City. I know I did.

Leave a comment